I disabled Android’s area tracking and recovered my personal privacy in 30 seconds

Nature

nature 4

Released Sep 12, 2026, 5:00 PM EDT

Varun is a tech reporter with over 8 years of experience throughout leading publications around the world.

From thorough evaluations to guides to covering the current on the planet of gizmos, Varun enjoys whatever customer innovation.

He is likewise a rap artist, trained chef, and a lover of music.

While mobile phones are developing every day and assistance advanced functions, they likewise bring personal privacy dangers. If you utilize Google Maps on your gadget for navigation, you’re basically permitting your mobile phone to track you any place you go. There’s no rejecting that this function can be a lifesaver in a range of scenarios.

There’s no requirement to continuously enable your mobile phone to track your area. A great deal of apps demand this particular approval, and you might not even understand it. It’s not a bad concept to make it possible for place tracking as and when needed and disabling the exact same later on.

Disable Google Timeline to limit recording logs of the locations you check out

Google’s Timeline function conserves your place history when allowed

Google Maps has actually a function called Timeline that permits you to inspect all the locations you’ve checked out in the past. When allowed, the function immediately conserves sees and paths to a map on each of your gadgets. Basically, if your GPS is on all the time, Google can track the locations that you check out for you to inspect later on.

<p>While some users might value the function, it might discover as a personal privacy danger for others. Luckily, you can disable the function to avoid Google from saving this details and erase your formerly conserved area information.</p>        <ol>
                <li>

                                    Open Google Maps app on your smart device.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Click your profile image in the top-right corner of your screen.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Select <strong>Your Timeline</strong>
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Tap the <strong>three-dot menu</strong> and pick <strong>Place &amp; personal privacy settings</strong>
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Switch off <strong>Timeline tracking</strong>
                    </li>
        </ol>

If you likewise wish to eliminate your existing area history, choose Erase all Timeline information to completely clear the information kept in your Timeline. It’s likewise worth keeping in mind that the area history information for the Timeline function has actually been moved from Google’s cloud servers to being kept in your area on your specific smart devices to enhance individual privacy. This might possibly make more individuals likely towards utilizing this function without stressing.

Limit other individuals from tracking your real-time area

Examine if you’ve shared your place with anybody

Google enables users to share their place with others. If admitted, other users can efficiently track your real-time place through supported Google services such as Google Maps, Messages, Find Hub, and Personal Safety. While Location Sharing is typically off by default, it’s possible that you’ve shared your area with other users in the past. It’s worth examining who still has gain access to and after that altering the settings.

<p>Open your phone's place settings and try to find <strong>Google Location Sharing</strong>You can evaluate individuals you're showing and stop showing particular people. This is particularly beneficial if you shared your place briefly in the past and forgotten it. It's worth keeping in mind that Location Sharing and Timeline are various functions. Switching off Timeline does not immediately stop area sharing.</p>    Some apps track your area without serving any genuine function

Limit undesirable apps from tracking your place

                                                                                        <picture>
    </picture>

You’ve most likely seen that numerous apps request authorization to access your area on Android. For some apps, tracking a user’s area really serves a genuine function. Google Maps tracks your place to assist you browse and reach your location; cab-booking services such as Uber assist you reserve a trip; and weather apps may track your area to upgrade you with the most recent details.

<p>There are a myriad of apps that ask for access to your area without in fact serving a core function. These apps may be gathering your area information for marketing or other functions. It's finest to confirm before accepting the demand, as such apps may be gathering more info than in fact required to perform their main function. This might likewise raise personal privacy issues since area information can expose delicate info.</p>    <p>The bright side is that Android users can quickly disable such apps from tracking you. Keep in mind, the specific name of some settings might vary from gadget to gadget based upon the Android variation, producer, and the customized UI.</p>        <ol>
                <li>

                                    Open the Settings app on your Android gadget.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Tap <strong>Place</strong>
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Select the <strong>App authorizations</strong> choice.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Modification undesirable apps from <strong>Permitted all the time</strong> to <strong>Just while utilizing the app</strong> or <strong>Reject</strong>
                    </li>
        </ol>

Switching off GPS will avoid your

gadget from tracking your precise area

Switch on area services when utilizing necessary apps

nature location services on vivo x300 pro

If you want to take the quickest path to avoid your gadget from tracking your precise area, the very best alternative is to disable GPS on your gadget. Keep in mind, if you do so, you will not have the ability to utilize Google Maps or book trips precisely. If that’s not a concern, this is the most sure-shot choice.

    <ol>
                <li>

                                    Open the Settings app on your Android gadget.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Look for the <strong>Place</strong> choice and tap on it.
                    </li>
                <li>

                                    Turn off Location to limit GPS services on your gadget.
                    </li>
        </ol>

Keep in mind that shutting off GPS will likewise avoid you from utilizing integrated emergency situation services. While not as precise as GPS, sometimes area can possibly be approximated utilizing Wi-Fi, cellular networks, Bluetooth, and other signals, depending upon the gadget.

Usage area services as and when required

It is a truth that a great deal of us depend upon vital place services such as Google Maps and Uber. It’s not something that requires to be made it possible for all the time. You ought to routinely examine what info your Android gadget and apps can gain access to. An excellent workaround for a lot of users would be to not disable every location-based function completely, however to utilize these services just when required.

By following a couple of easy modifications to your day-to-day regimen, you can keep your gadget from tracking each and every single relocation you make and still utilize those functions when you desire.

<br>Find out more

Discover more from PMN S.P.O.R.T.S - A PRIME MEDIA NETWORK BRAND

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here